Wednesday Night Dinner

Ok, this meal does not necessarily look super delicious but, I swear, it was.  SO good. First, though, a little backstory: the hardest part about cooking dinner, I think, is often deciding what to make. Unless I have already had a brainstorm about something I really want to eat, it’s just so hard. My process goes something like this: First, I have high enthusiasm. I peruse what’s new on epicurious, check out the Food and Wine website, consider some food blogs. And, most often, I come up with NOTHING. For some reason, when it’s my turn to make dinner, nothing looks appetizing, or feasible to make. Then I call my mom and groan about how IT’S SO HARD and that there is absolutely nothing to make and I have resigned to making black bean soup again (see last week’s entry). She sighs, and suggests I check out our cookbooks. I feel that I have done this countless times in the past, and how could there possibly be something new in them. And now, with enthusiasm flailing and dejection setting in, I halfheartedly flip through the cookbooks. And, as always, either Ina Garten or Mark Bittman comes through for us. Phew. Lesson: part time employment allows for much agonizing about simple decisions.

This week, it was Ina Garten’s curried chicken salad that became the inspiration for our meal. I concurrently decided that I would like to make homemade hamburger buns again, and curried chicken salad seemed like an ideal filling.

First, the buns. The New York Times had an article about the “perfect” homemade hamburger and all its parts — including the ideal brioche bun. I had made these before, with great success. They are the kind of buns that will make you pledge to never eat a store bought hamburger bun again (which, of course, you will — but you’ll still pledge not to.) These guys worked a little better the first time I made them, because this time I forgot to mix the last egg with some water and so I accidentally kind of deflated them a little. But they were still superlatively good.

Ina Garten wanted me to roast a chicken, which sounded slightly time consuming and I couldn’t find the appropriate kinds of chicken so I poached chicken breasts instead. We threw in some white wine, chicken stock and onions for the poaching liquid, which were all good decisions. Here is what I used in the dressing:

3/4 c Greek yogurt

3/4 c mayonnaise

1/4 c chutney (I used more because chutney is delicious)

1/3 c dry white wine

3 tbl curry powder.

The recipe called for 1 1/2 cups mayonnaise, but I decided to use half Greek yogurt and half mayonnaise, which was most successful. I also included the following ingredients in the salad.

1/4 c chopped scallions

A couple handfuls of halved grapes (I love grapes in curried chicken salad, no matter what the traditionalists might say)

Some chopped red pepper

2 chopped celeries

I do believe that is all. It was a most appetizing salad. Oh! AND. I started a fire. Drama. My rolls were rising on a tray, under a dishtowel, which I placed on the burners, not realizing the tea kettle was boiling on a different burner and so the towel promptly caught fire. Fortunately, I noticed fairly quickly and, even more importantly, my rolls were not compromised. Although, perhaps the trauma contributed to their slight deflation. You never know.

2 responses to “Wednesday Night Dinner

  1. Like you I need all the inspiration I can get when cooking meals after work each night. I’ve find that making a ‘possibles’ list from the food I already have in the fridge, freezer and cupboards on a Sunday evening helps enormously – means I don’t really have too think when I get in from a busy day at work. I don’t like making a weekly menu, might not be in the mood for the specific thing I decided on at the beginning of the week!

  2. hehe what a drama getting dinner made but was such a fun read! im def going to try out the bun recipe…i thought they were store brought at first! thanks for sharing!

    usually my dinner making process starts out the same as you…but when i *finally* find the recipe to work with, i’d find also that i dont certain ingredients available lol.

Leave a Reply

